
Last Updated 10/04/2016 

 

State of Delaware 
Office of Management and Budget 

 
Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) 

 
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) for Employees 

 
1. What is the Affordable Care Act and when was it passed? 

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA), commonly called the Affordable 
Care Act (ACA) or "ObamaCare", is a United States federal statute signed into law by 
President Barack Obama on March 23, 2010. Together with the Health Care and Education 
Reconciliation Act amendment, it represents the most significant regulatory overhaul of the 
U.S. healthcare system since the passage of Medicare and Medicaid in 1965. 

The ACA was enacted to increase the quality and affordability of health insurance, lower the 
uninsured rate by expanding public and private insurance coverage, and reduce the costs of 
healthcare for individuals and the government. It introduced mechanisms like mandates, 
subsidies, and insurance exchanges. The law requires insurance companies to cover all 
applicants within new minimum standards and offer the same rates regardless of pre-existing 
conditions or sex. Additional reforms were increased competition, regulation, and incentives 
to streamline the delivery of healthcare.  

The ACA was passed by Congress and then signed into law by the President on March 23, 
2010.  

2. What does the Affordable Care Act do? 

 In general, the ACA requires most U.S. citizens and legal residents to have health insurance; 
creates Exchanges through which individuals can purchase coverage, with premium and cost-
sharing credits; requires employers to offer affordable minimum essential coverage to full 
time employees or pay penalties for full time employees who are not offered affordable 
minimum essential coverage and who receive a tax subsidy through the Marketplace; 
imposes new regulations on health plans in the Marketplace; and expands Medicaid to 133% 
of the federal poverty level. 

3. What is the Individual Mandate? 

 The Individual Mandate is a requirement for individuals to have qualifying health coverage. 
Those without coverage pay a tax penalty of the greater of $695 per year up to a maximum of 
three times that amount ($2,085) per family or 2.5% of household income. The penalty will 
be phased in over multiple years: $95 or 1% of taxable income, whichever is greater in 2014, 
$325 or 2% of taxable income, whichever is greater in 2015 and $695 or 2.5% of taxable 
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income, whichever is greater in 2016. After 2016, the penalty will be increased annually by 
the cost- of-living adjustment. Exemptions may apply. 

4. What is the Employer Shared Responsibility Penalty?  

Beginning in 2015, employers with 50 or more full-time employees must offer minimum 
essential coverage to at least 70% of their full-time employees. In 2016 and beyond, 
employers must offer minimum essential coverage to at least 95% of their full-time 
employees. Full-time is defined as on average 30 or more hours per week. 

The “A” penalty would be assessed if the State does not offer minimum essential coverage to 
at least 70% of our full-time employees in 2015, and 95% in 2016, and one or more full-time 
employee receives a tax subsidy in the Marketplace. Since the State of Delaware operates on 
a fiscal year and not a calendar year, no penalty would be assessed until July 1, 2015. The 
penalty is $2,000 times the total number of full-time employees minus the first 30 workers 
(minus the first 80 in 2015). The penalty increases to $2,080 in 2015 and $2,160 in 2016. 

The “B” penalty would be assessed if a full-time employee (works on average 30 or more 
hours per week) is not offered minimum essential coverage or the coverage is not affordable 
and the employee receives a tax subsidy in the Marketplace. The penalty is $3,000 ($250 per 
month) times the number of full-time employees getting a tax subsidy and is effective 
beginning January 1, 2015. The penalty increases to $3,120 in 2015 and $3,240 in 2016. 

5. What is the definition of a full-time employee? 

The ACA defines a full-time employee as someone who works on average 30 or more hours 
per week.  

6. Are employees who are Medicaid eligible count towards the Employer Shared 
Responsibility Penalty? 

The IRS indicated in a letter dated April 2016 that employers with Medicare eligible 
employees who work full-time hours would be subject to the 4980H(a) penalty. The letter 
can be found here- http://ben.omb.delaware.gov/health-notices/index.shtml. If the state does 
not offer this employee health coverage (i.e. if this employees is a casual seasonal employee), 
then this employee would count toward the “A” penalty (discussed in question 4).  

7. What are the Affordable Care Act Reporting Requirements? 

The ACA contains two reporting requirements, both of which apply to the State of Delaware 
beginning in 2016 for Calendar Year 2015 reporting. Section 6055 requires plans that 
provide minimum essential coverage to report to the IRS and to employees on their coverage. 



Last Updated 10/04/2016 

 

Section 6056 requires large employers to report to the IRS and to employees whether or not 
they are full-time and offered health coverage.  

The state is using the monthly measurement method to determine an employee’s full-time 
status by counting the employee’s actual hours of service each month.  

The state has developed a monthly reporting schedule that consists of 12 reporting months of 
either four or five weeks. (The reporting months differ from the calendar months). If during a 
four week reporting month, an employee works less than 120 hours, then the employee is not 
considered full-time during that reporting month. If during a five week reporting month, an 
employee works less than 150 hours, then the employee is not considered full-time during 
that reporting month.  

8. How will the state determine whether or not an employee is full-time, as defined by the 
Affordable Care Act? 

In order for the state to determine whether an employee is full-time, the employee’s 
organization must report all actual hours worked. Organizations on Time and Labor and 
eSTAR are able to report those hours in the PHRST system. Any employees whose hours are 
not entered into the PHRST system, such as coaches, must be reported on the template 
provided by OMB. Organizations that are not on Time and Labor or eSTAR must report 
hours for hourly employees on the template provided by the OMB.  

All organizations spreadsheets will be uploaded into the PHRST system prior to calendar 
year end reporting.  

9. What is IRS Form 1095-C? 

The State is required by federal law to send Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Form 1095-C to 
any individual who was a full-time employee for one or more months during Calendar Year 
2015 and any employee who enrolled in the State’s Group Health Plan. The State will also 
send a copy of this form to the IRS. 

10. If I am a full-time employee and/or enrolled in the State Group Health Plan when will I 
get my Form 1095-C? 

Form 1095-C must be mailed to employees by January 31st (February 1st if January 31st falls 
on a weekend). Form 1095-C for Calendar Year 2015 will be mailed to employees by 
February 1, 2106. 

In late December, the IRS extended the deadline for the Calendar Year 2015 reporting until 
March 31, 2016. 
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11. What do I do with Form 1095-C? 

Form 1095-C is an important tax document that you should have on hand when you complete 
your federal income tax return and keep safely with your tax-related documents.  

You will use the information on the form to verify that you, your spouse and any dependents 
had coverage for each month during the year.  

Due to the delay in the Calendar Year 2015 form, you may not have the form when you are 
ready to file your taxes. While the information on the form may assist you in preparing a 
return, the form is not required and does not need to be attached to your tax return. 

12. Who do I contact if I lost my Form 1095-C or never received it? 

Form 1095-C will be available on Employee Self-Service beginning in late February. 

13. Who do I contact if I believe the information on Form 1095-C is incorrect? 

Contact the Statewide Benefits Office at 800-489-8933. 

14. Why did I get a letter from the State Group Health Plan requesting that I provide my 
Social Security Number (SSN) on a W9 form? 

The State is required to solicit missing or invalid SSNs for ACA Reporting. The IRS 
regulations require the State to supply employees with a W9 form which can be used to 
provide the State with the SSN. Employees may also contact their HR/Benefits Office to 
provide the SSN in lieu of returning the W9 form. 

15. What if I don’t provide the state with my SSN? 

Failure to provide the State with a valid SSN for yourself or your dependent(s) may subject 
you to a $50 penalty by the IRS under Section 6723 of the Internal Revenue Code. 

In addition, the State is required to solicit missing or invalid SSNs for ACA Reporting on an 
annual basis.  Failure to comply will result in additional requests from the State for this 
information.   

 

 

 

 
 


